BONUS: This can be made with any protein – beef, pork, lamb, shrimp/prawns, even tofu!

Honey Garlic Chicken Breast

This sauce for chicken breast is a variation of my Honey Garlic Salmon which has been popular with readers for many years. If I were ever to do a summary of my top 5 Most Used Sauces, Honey Garlic Sauce would probably be right at the top of the list. I love it because it requires so few ingredients that are pantry staples, and when simmered with a seared protein in a skillet so it becomes all bubbly and syrupy…. oh WOW. It’s just DA BOMB!!! ( <– Who talks like that at my age???! I do. Only in extenuating circumstances. Excitement over crazy delicious secret-weapon sauce falls under this category. 😎)

Terrific quick chicken breast recipe

Though I personally have a preference for chicken thighs over chicken breast (better flavour, juicier!), I find myself putting chicken breast in my shopping trolley week after week. Thus over the years, I’ve built up a wide variety of quick and easy chicken breast recipes – and this Honey Garlic Chicken is one of my favourite quick dinners that I find myself making over and over again.

What you need

See? I told you that you’d have everything! 😉

How to make Honey Garlic Chicken Breast

Split chicken breast in half – so 2 breasts makes 4 pieces;Dust chicken with flour (gives the chicken a slight crust so the sauce clings to it better!)Sear chicken, add butter, garlic, vinegar, soy sauce, honey.Simmer until the sauce thickens. Turn chicken to coat in the amazing honey garlic sauce.

And THAT’S IT! Want to BBQ it? Use this Grilled Honey Soy Chicken recipe instead. Notice how the sauce is clinging to the surface? That’s because we dusted the chicken with flour so when it’s pan fried, it creates a crust.

What to serve with Honey Garlic Chicken Breast

There’s enough sauce to drizzle over veggies and soak into rice or whatever you serve it with. The flavour is strong enough such that you don’t need loads – a bit goes a long way! It’s pictured above with Cauliflower Rice (tossed with a squeeze of lemon, parsley, salt and pepper) with Cucumber Salad on the side. Even though it’s got soy sauce in the Honey Garlic Sauce, this doesn’t taste specifically Asian-y. But it’s versatile enough that it will go just as well with Fried Rice as it will with a Macaroni Salad or even Mac and Cheese. Yes really! Try it once and you’ll understand (it only takes 12 minutes, you’ve got the time!!) – Nagi x

Honey Garlic Chicken breast recipeWATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Honey Garlic Chicken breast recipe originally published February 2018, it has since been improved with new photos and video but no change to recipe (I wouldn’t dare, readers love it as it is!).

More quick and easy chicken breast recipes

Life of Dozer

The fish down at the beach taunt Dozer endlessly, splashing around and leaping out of the water. Sometimes he’ll be in the water swimming non stop chasing fish for an hour! It’s brilliant – no effort required on my part!

Honey Garlic Chicken Breast - 35Honey Garlic Chicken Breast - 74Honey Garlic Chicken Breast - 94Honey Garlic Chicken Breast - 50Honey Garlic Chicken Breast - 85Honey Garlic Chicken Breast - 33Honey Garlic Chicken Breast - 65